What cancer can’t have

38378_454302835235_3404722_nIt’s been 15,128 days since my brother and I met. I’m sure he didn’t want really want this new “thing” invading his space, but I’m guessing he got pretty use to me after he realized my parents weren’t sending me back. Of course I don’t remember those early days, but I do have these incredible memories of him from as early as 2 years old.

There was one day that I asked him to drag me through our yard by my arms so I could get grass stains on my jeans…it didn’t work. To the time he got in a fight with a neighbor boy for hitting me too hard during backyard football. I remember in that moment I knew I had this protector, a hero! That particular day was another drama filled day of tears, my brother protecting me, and did I mention drama? Until, we got home and my mom freaked out because I had a fat lip. Every tear stopped and I turned to look at Tony and full of pride announced “I finally got a fat lip”.38059_454302780235_61911_n I love being a tomboy growing up in our little town, because that meant I got to spend all kinds of time with the best brother God could have ever given me.

I think that is why this long and painful goodbye as cancer takes over his body has been so incredibly hard. Tony has been my everything of so much of my life that I can’t imagine walking this earth without him. And I’m not alone. The stories that have come from the lives he has touch are more than I can count. I think behind all of this that is the way God intended his life to be lived out.

One of the last things Tony asked me to do was make sure his testimony was shared, so when the dust settles and the time is right I will be sharing one of the most sacred and beautiful pieces of my big brothers life. It’s what led him to find his faith, his wife, and desire to be a great father to his son.

heim_form-3363

Earlier this year I got to marry my best friend. That was the day he kinda handed me over to my next hero. He trust Toben and that is priceless. And God gave me Toben at a time I didn’t know I would need him as much as I do. The wedding was a dream come true and to know my brother was such a big part of it meant everything to me. All the days leading up to our wedding, more than anything else I wanted our family and friends to come together to celebrate with us and simply have fun. Tony had fun and I get to keep that memory all the days of my life.

 

 

Anthony Andrew “McQueen” I hope in your final days on this earth you rest well, you deserve it! We will miss you, but we will stay #HinojosaStrong because we are familia. I refused to say goodbye these past few months and won’t start today. I love you always and forever!

 

One thought on “What cancer can’t have

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑